There have been 46 United States presidents since the office was established in 1789. The President of the United States is the head of state and head of the government of the United States of America. The President is elected to a four-year term by the people through a process called the electoral college. The officeholder leads the executive branch of the federal government and is the commander-in-chief of the United States Armed Forces. Of those who have served as the United States president, four have died in office of natural causes, four were assassinated, and one resigned.

Official White House: History of the presidency

American Heritage US Presidents

US Presidents

Presidential Secrets - The Way Back Machine

America's Presidents

The Presidents

New Flash Five National News

US Presidential Pets - Then and Now

Fun Facts About US Presidents

The Presidential Seal (interactive)

The President Has Many Roles (interactive)

The American Presidency for Kids

George Washington

Thomas Jefferson

Abraham Lincoln

Presidents Day

American Presidents Life Portraits (really short bios)

American History Games